Rocky Mount Area Youth Council


The Rocky Mount Area Youth Council is a forum for area high school students in grades 9 through 12 to identify and address youth related issues and problems. Members will be allowed to:

  • Serve as an advisor for youth affairs to local government;
  • Serve as a line of communication between the youth and adults of the area; 

  • Initiate and organize community projects and programs that benefit the youth in the area plus participate in existing community service events;

  • Represent the Rocky Mount Area at State Leadership and Community Service Conferences;

  • Participate in the Youth Legislative Assembly, Governor's Page Program, and other state sponsored activities; and

  • Represent the interest of youth in your school, organization or neighborhood.

Meetings are held every third Wednesday @ 5:15 p.m, from September through June, at City Hall. Contact the Rocky Mount Human Relations department at 972-1184.

Rocky Mount Area Youth Council Officers for 2017/2018:

Ny’Mignon Avery - President

Keith Scott - Vice President

Taylor Booth - Secretary

Amya Dickens - Parliamentarian

For information about the Youth Council please contact Felisa Hunter at 972-1184.

Rocky Mount Area Youth Council Interest Form


State & Zip:
School or Organization:


Security Measure

For additional information about the Youth Council

Please phone, mail are fax your information to:

Felisa Hunter
City Administration Bldg.
331 South Franklin Street
Rocky Mount, NC 27802
Phone: 972-1184
Fax: 972-1554
Email: felisa.hunter@rockymountnc.gov