Sign up for the City Beat email newsletter! Enter your email address:

The legislative body of the government of the City of Rocky Mount is comprised of a Mayor and seven (7) member City Council. The City is divided into seven (7) wards and each ward is represented by a Councilmember who resides in the ward. The Mayor is elected at-large by the citizens and serves a four-year term. Members of the City Council serve four (4) year terms and are elected by the voters of the wards in which they reside. Elections are held every two (2) years in order that the terms of office will be staggered.

The City Council meets in regular session twice each month on the 2nd Monday at 7:00 p.m. and on the 4th Monday at 4:00 p.m. These meetings are held in the City Council Chamber on the Third Floor of the Municipal Administrative Complex, located at One Government Plaza, downtown Rocky Mount.

Twin Counties Visioning and Strategic Planning Process

Click here for the strategic plan